Creative Cutlery Jewelry

Every once in a while, we here at Blue Door Beads dig through our jewelry boxes at home in the hopes of rediscovering jewelry pieces we haven’t worn in a while. These times are really just excuses for us to look at all of our sparkly things, but every once in a while we find a piece of jewelry that really deserves to be worn again. I recently found a ring I had not worn in ages:

Oneida spoon ring that I acquired from a Berkeley street vendor some 15 years ago.

An Oneida spoon ring that I acquired from a Berkeley street vendor some 15 years ago.

I knew a few other girls in high school who wore spoon rings, and one of them once told me that spoon rings had a history. According to the Kimberlin Silver Co., “The origins of the spoon ring are unknown, though many claim they originated in England during the 17th century and were used as alternative wedding bands. Popular opinion further explains that servants who could not afford precious metals resorted to stealing silverware from their employers and crafted them into wedding rings. Those caught were prosecuted for theft, which is why spoon rings are known to have been used during this time.”

I thought this story was pretty romantic, although the whole “stealing from your employer” thing isn’t so great. I like to think my spoon ring didn’t come from someone’s irreplaceable family silver!

I decided to do a bit more hunting to find out what other fabulous jewelry has been created out of cutlery, and after browsing through pages and pages of Google images and listings on Etsy, I figured I would share a few of my faves, with my absolute favorite at the bottom. Enjoy!

~Lydia
Store Manager

Sculpted fork bracelet. Photo courtesy of spoonman.com.

Sculpted fork bracelet. Photo courtesy of spoonman.com.

Peacock pendant. Photo courtesy of silverspoonjewelry.com.

Peacock pendant. Photo courtesy of silverspoonjewelry.com.

Spoon handle earrings. Photo courtesy of wholesouljewelry.com.

Spoon handle earrings. Photo courtesy of wholesouljewelry.com.

Sculpted fork pendants. Photo courtesy of men-access.com.

Sculpted fork pendants. Photo courtesy of men-access.com.

Spoon handle bracelet. Photo courtesy of wholesouljewelry.com.

Spoon handle bracelet. Photo courtesy of wholesouljewelry.com.

Spoon handle earrings. Photo courtesy of silverspoonjewelry.com.

Spoon handle earrings. Photo courtesy of silverspoonjewelry.com.

"Flying Squid" fork necklace. Photo courtesy of doctorgus on Etsy.

“Flying Squid” fork necklace. Photo courtesy of doctorgus on Etsy.

Amazing fork octopus pendant! Photo courtesy of wholesouljewelry.com.

Amazing fork octopus pendant! Photo courtesy of wholesouljewelry.com.